is a metal band from Espoo.

The band was originally formed under the name IneartheD by drummer Jaska Raatikainen and singer/guitarist Alexi “Wildchild” Laiho, in 1993. Bassist Henkka “Blacksmith” Seppälä and guitarist Alexander Kuoppala joined in the early stages of the band, and though the band had already added a keyboardist to the formation – a key element to their music – it wasn’t until the arrival of jazz pianist Janne “Warman” Wirman that the pieces fell into place.

After 3 demos failing to attract label interest, the band decided to self-released an album. “Something Wild” was first released in Finland in 1997, on a small Belgian label (who practically provided no help), and immediately attracted Spinefarm Records’ attention.

As they were offered a country-wide release and contract, the band, who still operated under the named IneartheD, had to find a new name. It was eventually provided by the local phonebook, which listed residents in the Lake Bodom area, famous for the unsolved murders of 3 teenagers in 1960, and the band felt the name had an important impact.

Following their new record deal, they opened for Dimmu Borgir the same year, which sparked interest from Nuclear Blast records and eventually landed them an European deal the following year.

“Hatebreeder” was released in 1999, and allowed them to play 3 shows in Japan with Sinergy and In Flames.
“Follow The Reaper” hit the shelves the next year, followed by “Hate Crew Deathroll” in 2003. The band was then busy with their first world tour for the following year. Halfway through it, however, guitarist Kuoppala left for personal reasons, and without warning. Roope Latvala of Sinergy (and founding member of Stone, one of the bands initiating the metal movement in Finland) first filled in as session guitarist, eventually taking up the permanent position.

HCDR was their first gold album in Finland; it also landed them a solid fanbase in North America (where they have then seemed to tour every six months or so since). “Are You Dead Yet?”, released in 2005, marked a pronounced change of sound, which received mixed reactions. They embarked on tours with some of the biggest names in metal – Slayer, Lamb Of God, Judas Priest, Arch Enemy – until January 2007, as Alexi broke his shoulder in a bowling accident. Luckily, though the injury would never fully heal, his playing ability was not permanently affected. It would however cause a few problems following a bad fall from his bunk in the tourbus on a subsequent tour.
They released “Blooddrunk” in 2008, and “Skeletons In The Closet”, a cover album, in 2009. Their next release, titled “Relentless Reckless Forever”, is due for the beginning of 2011.


Albums /
– Something Wild (1997)
– Hatebreeder (1999)
– Follow the Reaper (2000)
– Hate Crew Deathroll (2003)
– Are You Dead Yet? (2005)
– Blooddrunk (2008)
– Relentless Reckless Forever (2011)

Compilations /
– Bestbreeder from 1997 to 2000 (Japan only; 2003)
– Skeletons In The Closet (cover album; 2009)

DVDs /
– Chaos Ridden Years: Stockholm Knockout Live

Videos /
Deadnight Warrior / Downfall / Everytime I Die / Needdled 24/7 / Sixpounder / Trashed, Lost And Strungout / In Your Face / Are You Dead Yet? / Blooddrunk / Hellhounds on my Trail / Smile Pretty for the Devil / Lookin’ Out My Back Door / Was It Worth It?